Helen Oyeyemi Wins PEN Open Book Award For Her Collection Of Short Stories ‘What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours’


Credit – Tom Pilston

Helen Oyeyemi has won the PEN America OPEN BOOK Award 2017.

The PEN Open Book Award was created by PEN American Center’s Open Book Committee, a group committed to racial and ethnic diversity within the literary and publishing communities.

SEE ALSO: Four Nigerian Women Who Have Recieved Grammy Awards And Nominations

Helen won the cash prize of $5,000 for the category of the “Exceptional Book-Length Work of Literature By An Author of Color Published In 2016” for her collection of short stories “What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours”.

In 2010, she received the Somerset Maughan Award, and was named as one of Granta’s ‘Best of Young British Novelists’ in 2013.

Her books include: What Is Not Yours is Not Yours (2016); Boy, Snow, Bird (2014); Mr. Fox (2011); White For Witching (2009); The Opposite House (2007); The Icarus Girl (2005), and Juniper’s Whitening and Victimese (2005).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For Adverts & Enquiries:


Copyright © 2015 Woman.NG. Designed by Soft Runner

To Top