Ayobami Adebayo Has Been Shortlisted For The 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize For Her Book ‘Stay With Me’



A Nigerian writer, Ayobami Adebayo has been listed as one of the 16 finalists of the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for fiction writers.

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is one of United Kingdom’s most prestigious literary prizes, annually awarded to a female author of any nationality for the best original full-length novel written in English, and published in the United Kingdom.

This year, out of 189 submissions, 16 books were longlisted with Ayòbámi Adebayo as one of the three debut writers in the list.

SEE ALSO: “There Is A Strong View In Nigeria, As In Many Other Cultures, That A Marriage Is Not Complete Without Children. I Don’t Agree” – Ayobami Adebayo

Adébáyò is also the only West African nominated, for her book, ‘Stay With Me, which is a devastating story of love and motherhood in Nigeria.

Delighted at the news, Ayobami tweeted,

“I’m so STUNNED and HONOURED to be in such wonderful company! I snoozed the alarm for about two hours this morning and woke up to the news. I might snooze the alarm FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE.”

The Baileys prize has been won in the past by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie in 2007.


Follow us on Facebook – Woman.NG, Twitter – @WomanNG, Instagram – and BBM Channel – C001CCEFD for more updates.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Woman.NG is the first and biggest blog for Nigerian women. We write, aggregate and curate inspiring, informative, and entertaining content for women, across multiple platforms.

For Adverts & Enquiries:


Copyright © 2015 Woman.NG. Designed by Soft Runner

To Top